The Institute of Geography is one of the oldest research centers of academic specialization in Kazakhstan and the only Scientific Research Institute of geographical specialization in the Central Asian region. At the present time, the Institute of Geography is parent organization in the system of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan dealing with complex problems of interaction between nature and society. The researches of the Institute are aimed at solving environmental problems and assessment of natural-resource potential of the country's geosystems with the development of geographical bases of sustainable nature management.

During 76 years of its activities, the Institute has developed the following main areas of geographical science: hydrology, glaciology, geomorphology, landscape study, mapping to an international level, participated in solving scientific and applied problems in all major state and interstate projects (the Aral Sea area, the Balkash lake area, the Caspian Sea area, Semipalatinsk region and others).

The Institute carries out a large volume of contractual multidirectional works of applied nature along with the implementation of a wide range of works within the state scientific and technical programs. World level of scientific researches is confirmed by joint works on programs and projects with foreign companies and institutions.

News

Read More



JOURNAL

magazine

  • Questions of geography and geoecology

    Site of journal Scientific periodic magazine «Questions of geography and geoecology» is published since 2007, and has international ISSN 1998 – 7838 and subscription...

Proceedings of the Institute of Geography

Институт географии – один из старейших исследовательских центров академического профиля в Казахстане и единственный НИИ географического профиля в Центрально-азиатском регионе. В настоящее время Институт географии – головная организация в системе Министерства образования и науки Республики Казахстан, занимающаяся комплексными проблемами взаимодействия природы и общества. Исследования Института ориентированы на решение экологических проблем и оценку природно-ресурсного потенциала геосистем республики с разработкой географических основ рационального природопользования.

За 76 лет своей деятельности Институт развил до международного уровня следующие основные направления географической науки: гидрологию, гляциологию, геоморфологию, ландшафтоведение, картографирование, принимал участие в решении научных и научно-прикладных проблем во всех крупных государственных и межгосударственных проектах (Приаралье, Прибалкашье, Прикаспий, Семипалатинский регион и др.).

Наряду с выполнением широкого спектра работ по государственным   научно-техническим программам Институт выполняет большой объем хоздоговорных разнонаправленных  работ прикладного характера. Мировой уровень научных исследований подтверждается совместными работами по программам и проектам с зарубежными компаниями и учреждениями.


Журнал

magazine

  • Вопросы географии и геоэкологии

    Сайт журнала Научный периодический журнал «Вопросы географии и геоэкологии» издается с 2007 года, имеет международный ISSN 1998 – 7838 и подписной индекс Казпочты –...


Труды Института географии